Technology | October 13, 2009

ASTRO Names Recipients of Annual Awards for Top Resident-Authors

Michael Pacold, M.D., Ph.D., of Harvard Radiation Oncology Program in Boston.

October 13, 2009 – The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) announced the recipients of several Annual Meeting awards. Recipients will receive their honors during ASTRO’s 51st Annual Meeting in Chicago, being held November 1-5, 2009.

The Resident Clinical/Basic Science Research Award is designed to promote clinical research by young scientists. It is granted to the top three resident-authors of significant abstracts in physics, biology and clinical practice.

This year’s winners are Steven Finkelstein, M.D., of the University of South Florida in Tampa, Fla., for clinical practice, Chirag Shah, M.D., of William Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak, Mich., for radiation physics, and David Yu, M.D., Ph.D., of Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, Tenn., for radiation and cancer biology.

The Resident Poster Discussion Award recognizes the top resident poster presentations in each of the poster categories – clinical, biology and physics. This year’s winners are Payel Bhanja, Ph.D., of Albert Einstein College of Medicine in Bronx, N.Y. for radiation and cancer biology, Clifton Fuller, M.D., of the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio for clinical and Ruijiang Li, Ph.D., of the University of California San Diego in La Jolla, Calif., for radiation physics.

The Poster Viewing Awards are given to the top three abstracts in each clinical, radiation and cancer biology and radiation physics. This year’s winners for clinical are Taro Murai, M.D., of Nagoya City University Hospital in Mizuhoku, Nagoya City, Japan, (first place), Kristy Smith, M.D., of the University of Florida Shands Cancer Center in Gainesville, Fla.(second place), and Robert Den, M.D., of Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia (third place).

In the radiation and cancer biology category, winners are Michael Pacold, M.D., Ph.D., of Harvard Radiation Oncology Program in Boston (first place), Melissa Mitchell, M.D., Ph.D., of the University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, Kan. (second place), and Sunil Advani, M.D., of the University of Chicago Hospitals and Clinic in Chicago (third place).

In the radiation physics category, the winners are Lamberto Widesott, M.S. of the Provincial Agency for Proton Therapy in Trento, Italy, (first place), Catherine Park, M.D., M.P.H., of the University of South Florida in Tampa, Fla. (second place), and Julien Partouche, M.D., of the University of Chicago in Chicago (third place).

“Congratulations to all these talented individuals who are being honored this year,” Tim R. Williams, M.D., ASTRO president and a radiation oncologist at Boca Raton Community Hospital in Boca Raton, Fla., said. “The high-quality of the research submitted for this year’s Annual Meeting really raises the bar for future Annual Meetings. I am honored to be able to recognize these researchers for their impressive work.”

For more information:

Related Content

Washington University in St. Louis Begins Clinical Treatments With ViewRay MRIdian Linac
News | Image Guided Radiation Therapy (IGRT) | June 14, 2018
June 14, 2018 — The Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine in S
Accuray TomoTherapy System Beneficial in Two Total Body Irradiation Studies
News | Radiation Therapy | June 13, 2018
Recently published data from two new studies demonstrate the benefits of Accuray’s TomoTherapy System in the delivery...
IsoRay Funding Brain Cancer Treatment Research With Ochsner Clinic Foundation
News | Brachytherapy Systems | June 12, 2018
IsoRay Inc. announced the initiation of research funding for brain cancer treatment to Ochsner Clinic Foundation, a not...
News | Brachytherapy Systems | June 07, 2018
IsoRay Inc. announced the upcoming release of its Build-Blu delivery system for real-time prostate brachytherapy.
Raysearch RayStation
Feature | Radiation Therapy | June 05, 2018 | By Melinda Taschetta-Millane
Treatment planning systems are at the heart of r...
Lung Decision Precision
News | Lung Cancer | June 04, 2018
For smokers and former smokers, the threat of lung cancer always lurks in the shadows.
Beaumont Researchers Invent New Mode of Proton Treatment for Lung Cancer
News | Proton Therapy | May 31, 2018
Members of Beaumont Health’s proton therapy team presented research on a new treatment for patients with lung cancer at...
More Than 60 Percent of Patients Seeking Proton Therapy Initially Denied Coverage
News | Proton Therapy | May 25, 2018
The Alliance for Proton Therapy Access has released a national report revealing the heavy emotional and financial...
News | Treatment Planning | May 24, 2018
Daniela Schmitt, Ph.D., took top honors in the overall category of the 2018 TROG Plan Study: Stereotactic Radiosurgery...
News | Computed Tomography (CT) | May 21, 2018
The Istituto Oncologico Veneto (IOV) in Padua, Italy, has acquired MILabs’ latest-generation Versatile Emission...
Overlay Init